Lake District Rock Guidebook

Lake District Rock Guidebook

More Views

  • Lake District Rock Guidebook

Availability: In stock



The Lake District Rock is a selective guidebook describing the best rock climbing in the English Lake District The guidebook covers all the major valleys in the Lakes, including 85 different crags and over 1,500 routes across a wide range of grades. Covered are many classic routes with everything from long multi-pitch routes in the high mountains at places such as Scafell and Pillar; to single pitch routes in the lower valleys of Borrowdale and Langdale; and sport climbing at places such as St Bees and Chapel Head Scar.

The guidebook is split into 9 different areas, which are as follows: (1) Langdale; (2) Dow, Coppermines and slate; (3) Eskdale and Duddon; (4) Scafell and Wasdale; (5) Gable and Pillar, (6) Buttermere and St Bees; (7) Borrowdale; (8) Eastern Crags; and (9) The Eden Valley and south Lakes.

At the start of each main area there is a location map showing the different crags, a good description giving a general overview and type of rock climbing to be found there. Each crag has a separate approach description and map (if appropriate) with GPS co-ordinates for the parking, and OS grid reference for the crag. Symbols indicate the type of climbing (trad or sport), approach time and crag orientation.

Published by the Fell and Rock Climbing Club (FRCC) in June 2015, this guidebook also has many sensational action photographs.

Number of pages is 480.
Size is 150mm x 210mm (A5).